Skip to content

Here’s who’s running for North Vancouver school board

Byelection to be held on May 29 following trustee's resignation
NV School District Office03
North Vancouver School District / SD44 administration office

Five nominees have put their names forward in the race to elect a new member of the North Vancouver school board.

The District of North Vancouver called a byelection last month after trustee Devon Bruce announced his resignation from the board in February.

Those who submitted nomination packages by the 4 p.m. deadline Friday are Jo-Anne Burleigh, Jullian Kolstee, Alex Kozak, Linda Williams and Linda Munro.

The winner will serve out the remainder of the current term, which ends in October 2022.

General voting day is scheduled for Saturday, May 29, from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Polling stations will be set up at Argyle, Seycove and Windsor secondary schools, as well as Braemar, Capilano, Cleveland, and Lynnmour elementary schools.

There will be two advance voting days: May 19 at District of North Vancouver municipal hall and May 24 at DNV's municipal hall and Windsor Secondary.

Voters must wear a face mask while inside the voting place and while waiting in the lineup outside, according to the district.

The cost of holding a byelection is approximately $80,000.

Trustees, currently, are paid about $28,000 per year. In September of last year, school trustees voted themselves a 2.4 per cent pay raise.

The last time there was a byelection for a North Vancouver school board seat was in 2009. In that race, 2,757 voters cast a ballot – a turnout of 4.75 per cent.