Holiday reads to help unwind during the holidays

Holiday parties, family get-togethers, shopping, baking, wrapping … oh my! Make sure to carve out some time this year to sit back, relax, and enjoy a bit of down-time this holiday season. Some of your local North Vancouver District Public Library staff have put together a list of seasonal selections to help you get into the holiday spirit by curling up with a great book, ebook, or audiobook. Check out some of our favourite holiday books below.

Very Rich by Polly Horvath

article continues below

Recommended by Danielle Wing, children’s librarian

I have been waiting for this Canadian children’s book to be released and it has come out just in time for the holidays! Polly Horvath delivers a quirky and entertaining story full of twists, turns and adventures. Rupert, a very poor boy, unexpectedly finds himself spending Christmas Day with the very rich Rivers family. They each take Rupert on unlikely and strange adventures that include time travel, magical salads, and a bank robbery. While light-hearted in tone, the story contains important messages about social class and self-acceptance. This book is perfect for readers of Roald Dahl and Lemony Snicket.

Christmas at the Vinyl Café by Stuart McLean

Recommended by Jacqueline van Dyk, director of library services 

The Vinyl Café: a beloved radio show broadcast in Canadian households since 1994, featuring good music and excellent stories as told by Canadian icon Stuart McLean. Stories about Dave and Morley are essential annual reading in my household. I loved the CBC radio show and I can still hear Stuart McLean’s voice and treasure memories of his live performances as I re-read his wonderful stories. Heart warming, delightful, and laugh-out-loud funny, Christmas at the Vinyl Café is a Canadian staple that comes highly recommended.

My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories, edited by Stephanie Perkins

Recommended by Rebekah Adams-Brush, teen librarian

With stories by young adult powerhouses like Jenny Han (To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before), Rainbow Rowell (Fangirl, Eleanor and Park), and Holly Black (The Cruel Prince), this warm, cosy anthology feels almost too good to be true. It’s the type of book you can devour in a single sitting (like a certain librarian may have done), or savour all December long, one story at a time. Whether you’re looking for a sweet festive romance, a folk tale-style story, or an opulent holiday fantasy, My True Love Gave to Me has something for every reader.

The Olden Days Coat by Margaret Laurence

Recommended by Jacqueline Beliso, library technician

A magical story of a girl who receives an unexpected gift: a journey into Christmas past! Ten-year-old Sal is disappointed when she and her parents spend Christmas at her grandmother’s house, instead of at home. In order to pass the time, Sal explores the contents of an old trunk and comes across a little girl’s winter coat; she tries it on, and finds herself transported into the past where she makes an unexpected connection to her heritage and her grandmother.

Meghan Crowe is the events co-ordinator for North Vancouver District Public Library.

Read Related Topics

B-Line POLL

Should B-Line buses have priority on Marine Drive?

or  view results

Popular News

Community Event Calendar


Find out what's happening in your community and submit your own local events.