BC Book Prize winners announced

West Coast Book Prize Society announced the names of the winners of the 32nd Annual BC Book Prizes (bcbookprizes.ca) at the Lieutenant Governor’s BC Book Prizes Gala at Government House in Victoria on April 30.

– Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize awarded to the author of the best work of fiction:
Alix Hawley, All True Not a Lie in It (Knopf Canada)

– Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize to recognize the author(s) of the book that contributes most to the enjoyment and understanding of British Columbia:
Briony Penn, The Real Thing: The Natural History of Ian McTaggart Cowan (Rocky Mountain Books)

– Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize awarded to the author of the best original non-fiction literary work:
Brian Brett, Tuco: The Parrot, the Others, and A Scattershot World (Greystone Books)

– Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize awarded to the author of the best work of poetry:
Raoul Fernandes, Transmitter and Receiver (Nightwood Editions)

– Christie Harris Illustrated Children’s Literature Prize presented to the best illustrated book written for children:
Annette LeBox, Stephanie Graegin (illus), Peace is an Offering (Dial Books)

– Sheila A. Egoff Children’s Literature Prize awarded to the best non-illustrated book written for children:
Susan Juby, The Truth Commission (Razorbill)

- Bill Duthie Booksellers’ Choice Award presented to the originating publisher and author(s) of the best book in terms of public appeal, initiative, design, production, and content:
Susan Musgrave, A Taste of Haida Gwaii: Food Gathering and Feasting at the Edge of the World (Whitecap Books)

article continues below

Read Related Topics

Weather POLL

Do British Columbians have the right to complain about snow?

or  view results

Popular News

Community Event Calendar

Find out what's happening in your community and submit your own local events.